Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中信銀行股份有限公司

China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 998)

ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING THE APPROVAL BY MINISTRY OF FINANCE ON THE RIGHTS ISSUE PLAN AND THE CITIC GROUP SUBSCRIPTION UNDERTAKING

Reference is made to the announcement published by China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited (the "Bank") on 28 September 2010, which sets out the subscription undertaking issued by CITIC Group ("CITIC Group"), the controlling shareholder of the Bank. According to the subscription undertaking, CITIC Group will subscribe for all the rights shares according to the rights issue plan approved by the Thirteenth Meeting of the Second Session of the Board of Directors of the Bank on 11 August 2010.

The Bank has received the Approval on Certain Matters Related to the Rights Issue Plan of China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited from Ministry of Finance of the PRC, which approves the rights issue plan of the Bank and the subscription undertaking by CITIC Group.

The Bank will continue to apply for approvals from the relevant domestic and offshore regulatory authorities in accordance with the relevant laws and regulations, including China Banking Regulatory Commission, China Securities Regulatory Commission and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By order of the Board of

China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited KONG Dan

Chairman

Beijing, the PRC

13 October 2010

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Dr. Chen Xiaoxian and Dr. Zhao Xiaofan; the non-executive directors are Mr. Kong Dan, Mr. Chang Zhenming, Mr. Dou Jianzhong, Mr. Ju Weimin, Mr. Zhang Jijing, Ms. Chan Hui Dor Lam Doreen, Mr. Guo Ketong, Mr. Ángel Cano Fernández and Mr. José Andrés Barreiro Hernandez; and the independent non-executive directors are Dr. Bai Chong-En, Dr. Ai Hongde, Dr. Xie Rong, Mr. Wang Xiangfei and Mr. Li Zheping.