

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 998)

NOTICE OF THE FIRST EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING IN 2010

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the first extraordinary general meeting in 2010 (the *EGM*) of China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited (the *Bank*) will be held at 9:30 a.m. on Friday, 5 February 2010 at the Conference Room, 16/F, Block C, Fuhua Mansion, No. 8 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, the People's Republic of China to consider and, if thought fit, to pass the ordinary resolution on appointment of Mr. Ángel Cano Fernández as a non-executive director of the Bank.

By order of the Board of Directors of China CITIC Bank Corporation Limited KONG Dan

Chairman

Beijing, the PRC

22 December 2009

Notes:

1. Closure of register of members and eligibility for attending the EGM

Holders of H Shares are advised that the share register for H Shares will be closed from Wednesday, 6 January 2010 to Friday, 5 February 2010 (both days inclusive). Holders of H Shares who wish to attend the EGM but have not registered the transfer documents are required to deposit the transfer document together with the relevant share certificates at the office of the H Share registrar of the Bank, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at Shops 1712–16, 17th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong by no later than 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, 5 January 2010.

2. Proxy

Shareholders entitled to attend and vote at the EGM may appoint one or more proxies to attend and vote in their stand. A proxy need not be a shareholder of the Bank.

The instrument appointing a proxy must be in writing under the hand of a shareholder or his attorney duly authorized in writing. If the shareholder is a corporate body, the proxy form must be either executed under its common seal or under the hand of its director(s) or duly authorized attorney(s). If the proxy form is signed by an attorney of the shareholder, the power of attorney authorizing that attorney to sign or other authorisations document must be notarized.

For holders of H Shares, the proxy form together with the power of attorney or other authorization document (if any) must be lodged at the office of the H Share Registrar of the Bank, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at Rooms 1806–07, 18th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong in person or by post not less than 24 hours before the time fixed for holding the EGM or any adjournment thereof (as the case may be). Shareholders can still attend and vote at the EGM upon completion and return of the proxy form.

NOTICE OF THE EGM

3. Reply Slip

Holders of H Shares who intend to attend the EGM in person or by proxy should return the reply slip to the office of the H Share Registrar of the Bank, Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, at Rooms 1806–07, 18th Floor, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong on or before Saturday, 16 January 2010.

4. Contact details of the Bank

Contact Address: Block C, Fuhua Mansion, 8 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, the People's Republic of China.

Postcode: 100027

Contact Person: SONG Huajie, SHI Chuanyu

Contact Telephone: (86 10) 6555 8000

Contact Fax: (86 10) 6555 0809

5. Procedures for voting at the EGM

According to Rule13.39(4) of the Hong Kong Listing Rules, any vote of shareholders at a general meeting must be taken by poll.

6. Other business

The EGM is expected to require approximately half of a day. Shareholders (in person or by proxy) attending the EGM are responsible for their own transportation and accommodation expenses.

Shareholders or their proxies attending the EGM shall produce their identity documents.

As at the date of this notice, the executive directors of the Bank are Dr. Chen Xiaoxian and Mr. Wu Beiying; the non-executive directors are Mr. Kong Dan, Mr. Chang Zhenming, Mr. Dou Jianzhong, Mr. Ju Weimin, Mr. Zhang Jijing, Ms. Chan Hui Dor Lam Doreen, Mr. Guo Ketong and Mr. José Andrés Barreiro Hernandez; and the independent non-executive directors are Dr. Bai Chong-En, Dr. Ai Hongde, Dr. Xie Rong, Mr. Wang Xiangfei and Mr. Li Zheping.